

Organisational structure of the European Network Remembrance and Solidarity

The European Network Remembrance and Solidarity (ENRS) is an international initiative established by the Declaration of 2 February 2005 by Ministers of Culture (or their counterparts) of four countries: Poland, Germany, Slovakia and Hungary. In the declaration, they acknowledged the need for dialogue on 20th-century history and for joint research, documentation and dissemination of the contemporary European history marked with wars and totalitarian dictatorships. In 2009, the intention to establish the ENRS expressed in the Declaration was echoed in letters of intent signed by the Ministers of Culture of Germany, Poland and Hungary. In May 2014, the Declaration was amended on the occasion of the accession of another member country to the Network: Romania. Advisory assemblies additionally involve representatives of Albania, Austria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Latvia and Lithuania.

The ENRS structure resulting from the 2005 Declaration and 2014 Amendment to the Declaration includes:

- Steering Committee (decision-making body)
- Academic Council (advisory body)
- Advisory Board (advisory body)
- Director of the ENRS secretariat (executive body)

The Steering Committee is a decision-making body of the Network composed of representatives of all ENRS member states nominated by Ministers. The Steering Committee makes its decisions in consensual mode. The Steering Committee meetings are organised at least twice a year. The chairman of the Committee is held on a rotational basis for a period of six months in turn by the members of the Steering Committee.

Currently, the Steering Committee consists of:

- dr Réka Földváryné Kiss (Hungary),
- prof. dr Matthias Weber (Germany),
- prof. dr Jan Rydel (Poland),
- dr Florin Abraham (Romania),
- dr Jerguš Sivoš (the Slovak Republic)

Additionally, each member country can nominate two representatives to each of the ENRS advisory assemblies: **the Academic Council** (consisting of academics dealing with history and remembrance) and **the Advisory Board** (consisting of public personalities).

At present there are 25 members of both advisory bodies: 18 members nominated by Network's member countries and 7 members from observer countries. Advisory bodies consult the Network's activities and support the Steering Committee and secretariat in defining the ENRS long-term objectives. Members of both bodies meet at least once a year to discuss the development of the Network.

At the operational level, the projects and activities of the Network are implemented by **ENRS** secretariat, which works through two institutions: Institute of European Network Remembrance and Solidarity (public institution of culture) and Foundation European Network "Remembrance and Solidarity" (NGO), both established under the Polish law. At present, the secretariat's team comprises 23 permanent collaborators from several countries. Each member country may delegate an employee, at its own expense, to the ENRS secretariat in Warsaw.

Financial structure of the Network

According to the Annex to the Declaration 2005, the member states declare that they will support the development of the Network and they will strive to equip the Network with a permanent legal and organisational framework.

Each member country is involved in the financing of the Network; the minimum membership fee amounts to 50 000 EUR, however, Poland and Germany decided to make a financial contribution exceeding the minimum rate. The transfer of the financial contribution is preceded by the signing of the contract between the secretariat (ENRS Institute or Foundation - depending on the will of a member state) and the respective Ministry. The contributions are handed over adequately to procedural and legal possibilities of particular member countries.

Additionally, the ENRS secretariat actively and successfully raises funds for the ENRS' projects from international institutions such as the European Commission or the International Visegrad Fund.

The procedure of joining the Network

Due to the international nature of the initiative, the accession of new member country to the Network should be preceded by inter-ministerial consultations among the member states. The procedure related to joining the Network by a new member country is as follows:

1. Application for membership

The minister of culture of the candidate country (or their counterpart) issues a letter of intent to one of his counterparts in the Network's member states. Due to the location of the Network's secretariat in Warsaw, we suggest sending a letter to the Minister of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland.



2. Inter-ministerial consultations

The Minister of Culture to whom the letter of intent is addressed carries out consultations regarding the accession of a new country among his counterparts in the ENRS member states. If a common position is agreed among all member states, the decision is announced to the candidate country.

3. Accession

Formal accession of the candidate country takes place by signing the annex to the Declaration on the establishment of the European Network Remembrance and Solidarity of 2 February 2005 by representatives of all member states. The annex states that the acceding country joins the initiative and shares its goals.

- - -

It is also possible for a country to join the ENRS as an **observer member**. This interim format of cooperation lasts for 2 years and is aimed at organizing joint events and establishing close partnership with the candidate country. After this period a candidate country is expected to join the ENRS as the permanent member. The accession procedure in this case is similar to that described above.

